So I have decided that I really need to get serious about getting back in shape. Following ankle surgery last year, and with shin splints preventing any serious running for another couple months, I have reached 233lbs. I am far from fat – a significant chunk of that weight is muscle mass – but nevertheless I could probably stand to lose a good 20lbs or so. I actually started working out more seriously a month or so ago, but I figure if I keep track of my progress here I may have more incentive to keep at it. Here is what I did on Monday:

Bench Press (free weights)- 195lbs, 3 sets of 8 reps each (I could lift more, but my reps start to drop off dramatically. I am trying to make sure I can do 3 sets of 8 each time I bump my benching weight)

Shoulder Press (machine)- 115lbs, 3 sets of 8 reps each (I have always been weaker with this than I probably should be, but I have never been able to lift this much before, so… progress, at least)

Incline Crunches – 3 sets, 45, 40, and 35 reps respectively

Elliptical – 28 minutes at level 7 resistance with 4 minute intervals of 5 and 10 degree inclines (I know calorie counts don’t mean much with these, but at least they provide me with a good reference for how much effort I am putting in – and I broke 400 calories this week)

I am trying to work out daily during the work week, but there will be some days that I miss. This week is likely to be only 3 days total, but next week should be back to 5 days.

