So I hit the gym on a Tuesday for the first time in a couple weeks. It wasn’t an extremely long workout, but was a pretty good one.

Seated Leg Press: 320 lbs, 3 sets of 8 reps each
Leg Extension: 140 lbs, 3 sets of 8 reps each
Toe Raises: 3 sets of 25 reps each
Calf Raises: 3 sets of 25 reps each

I also tried running again, and made it a mile this time before I felt I might be pushing my shins a bit too much. I kept a slow, but reasonable pace at a 1 degree incline on the treadmill (which I am told sort of balances the differences between running on a treadmill and running normally) – 8:59, and about 200 calories burned after a 2 minute cooldown walk. Turns out that I may be underestimating calorie burn for my 1-mile hikes home. According to the treadmill, I was burning about 13 calories over 2 minutes of walking and it takes me 20 minutes to walk a mile at that pace. Of course on the other hand, its calorie measurement is questionable. Either way however, I am still burning more calories than I thought I was.

I wanted to use the stair machine again, and add another 5 floors of climbing as well, but someone jumped on it right as I finished with the treadmill. Instead, I went to the other side of the gym and hiked up to the second floor and back down 25 times. It’s funny how when you are tired, controlling speed on a decline is harder than making yourself move up an incline.

I didn’t hit the bike yesterday, as by the time I was done with the stairs it was already 5:30 and I had to get home for dinner. As for today, it’s back to weights and battling the elliptical with sore calves.

