So after some laziness and a month of sitting on my ass following a second ankle surgery, I have started hitting the gym again.  I found I pretty much needed to start from scratch, as it has been so long since I lifted, and as I cannot run or do anything short of a slow walk yet it will be a few months before I can even move back to the elliptical.  That being said, it was a productive workout.

135lb Bench Press ( …I miss lifting twice that =(… ), a 12 rep warmup with the bar, followed by 3 sets of 8 reps each doing a 3 second drop and quick press for all except the last 3 of the third set, when I felt I didn’t have the energy for the slow drop and just belted the last 3 out, and finished with an 8 rep cooldown with just the bar.

Incline Crunches, 3 sets of 30, 25, and 20 reps respectively.

150lb Lateral Press, 3 sets of 8 reps each.

60lb Shoulder Press, 3 sets of 8 reps each (still much weaker on upward presses).

100lb Wide Grip Behind-the-Neck Pulldown, 3 sets of 8 reps each.

30 Minutes Treadmill, slow walk at 1.8mph (best I can do so far without my ankle hurting – and only about 160 calories)

60 Second Plank

25lb Bicep/Shoulder Curls, 3 sets of 8 reps each

All in all, not too bad, and I have to start somewhere, right?  I am going to try and do this 3 days a week and fit something else in between, and track my weight weekly as I go.  I used to do weigh-ins on Mondays, but since that is after a weekend (read: more eating, less exercise), I think I will do my first one on Friday.  This has nothing to do with me forgetting to weigh myself this morning.  I swear.  really.

Well, maybe just a little.

Anyway, until next time, and good workouts to all of you trying to improve your fitness.  Just remember – be more stubborn than the weights, more stubborn than the trail, and more stubborn than the soreness.  They can only beat you if you let them.

Ciao!

